Ayurveda and astrology - 1

Eternally man has been fascinated in various studies that allow him to peep by the uncertainty of the future. In these studies of ancient sciences, especially Vedic Sciences Astrology (Jyotisha) is of a special importance.

Since "Astrology (Jyotisha)" was a contemporary branch of Vedic Sciences as that of Ayurveda, there seems to have a great linkage between these two master pieces of ancient vedic sciences i.e. Ayurveda and Astrology.In the Veda's (the holy scripts of the Hindu religion) we can find descriptions of the methods of Vedic astrology as well as ayurvedic healing. No one need be surprised at the relationship between the two.

Medicoastrology scientifically studies planetary movements and their effect on human constitutions and lives. Astrology is based on the concept that each planet is intrinsically related to a specific body tissue and that the various planetary movements and their positions in relation to time exert powerful influences on your mind, body and consciousness, directly affecting your physical and mental health. It is to be noted that sun, rahu & ketu are nodal points exactly opposite each other and are given the status of planets according to the Indian system of Astrology. They are important indicators of spiritual and / or materialistic tendencies.

There are Nine Planets (as per ancient literature in Jyotish), which has got a capacity to rule over our life. They are as follows:
Sun (Surya)
Mercury (Budha)
Moon (Chandra)
Jupiter (Guru)
Mars (Mangal)
Venus (Shukra)
Saturn (Shani)

They occupy different places in our Natal chart (Janma Kundali). According to their specific location in natal chart, they decide several factors with reference to our life viz.Our Nature and Behaviour (Swabhava and Prakruti),Disorders (Roga/Vyadhi) etc. So by looking at ones natal chart one can predict several things with special reference to Ayurveda as well.

Co-relation of Nine Planets and Panchamahabhutas

Like Ayurveda , Astrology also accepts the therapy of PANCHAMAHABHOOTAS. Therefore the Nine planets about whom we have discussed before can also be co-related with there five Basic Elelments and they are as follows:

Planets Panchabhautic Component
Sun Fire (Teja)
Moon Water (Jala)
Mars Fire (Teja)
Mercury Earth (Prithvi)
Jupiter Space (Aakasha)
Venus Water (Jala)
Saturn Air (Vayu)

Ayurvedic Tridoshas
Ayurveda is based on the three constitutions, the three dosha's. These three dosha's are called vata, pitta and kapha. Vata corresponds to air, pitta to fire, and kapha to earth and water. The astrological signs and planets can then be divided as follows .......

Continue >>>>